Adding Users and Managing User Roles
  • 29 Mar 2024
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Contributors

Adding Users and Managing User Roles


Article summary

Learn how to add users to Tulip and about the available roles

Tulip instances do not restrict the number of users that can be invited. To manage users you must be an Account Owner. To view users on your Tulip Instance, navigate to the Account or Workspace Settings page in the top right profile menu.

NOTE:

If Tulip is integrated with your single sign on (SSO), new user accounts are not able to be created in Tulip and are instead created when logging in as a valid SSO user.

Adding New Tulip Users

Only "Account Owners" can add new users. Select Users in your Settings page, and press the Add User button.

Add a new Operator

  1. Fill in the Operator’s full name.
  2. Fill in the Badge ID number.
  3. Press “Create User”.

From release r235, users can add an optional email address to existing Operator roles.

This will enable Operator roles to upgrade to higher roles as and when needed.

Add any other user role

  1. Fill in the user’s full name
  2. Fill in the user's email address
  3. Fill in the user’s Badge ID number
  4. Select the role for this new user.

NOTE:

Once a new user is added to a Tulip account, an email will be automatically sent to the user prompting the individual to create a new profile. Operators will not receive an email, and can begin using the Tulip Player immediately.

View Full Permissions of User Roles

Tulip uses the following terminology to describe roles:

  • Full Access - Able to create, view, edit and archive the listed asset

  • Limited Access - Able to use the asset in the specific ways determined by checked boxes in the UI

  • View Only - Only able to view the asset

  • Cannot View - Unable to view the asset

To view the permissions for each role, go to the Users page in Account Settings. Click the Roles tab.

Users Roles Page with Role Details

Select a role to view the full permission details

Edit User Details

Only Account Owners can edit user account details.

First, select the user to modify:

You will now be able to edit the following fields:

  • Profile Picture
  • Name
  • Badge ID
  • Language
  • Role
  • Workspace (if enabled)

Adding a Phone Number

A phone number can be added to a user account in Tulip but only by the user themselves.

  1. Click on profile icon in the top right corner
  2. Select My Profile

  1. Click on the "Add phone number..."

  1. A modal will pop up prompting for the phone number and once entered, hit Send Verification Code. Enter the code received, hit Verify and if successful, Done.

You can also remove a user's phone number from the same screen.

Resend User Invitations

For security purposes, invitation links to Tulip expire after 24 hours. If an invited user does not accept the invite within that period, they will see a message like this when they try to log in:

To fix this problem, you need to resend their welcome link. In the Users page in Account Settings, find the user who requires a new invitation link. A message saying "Invite Expired" should be present with the option to "Resend". Hovering over the "Invite Expired" message will display the date and time of the previous invite.

Click "Resend" to send the user's welcome email again. If they still are unable to log in, please contact support@tulip.co for more help.

Further Reading


Did you find what you were looking for?

You can also head to community.tulip.co to post your question or see if others have faced a similar question!


Was this article helpful?