How to Deactivate/Delete Users and Operators
  • 20 Sep 2022
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light

How to Deactivate/Delete Users and Operators

  • Dark
    Light

How to Deactivate/Delete Users and Operators

Learn how to deactivate a user

In this article, you will learn:

  • The definition of deactivating a user
  • How to reactivate a user
NOTE:

You can only deactivate user profiles on Enterprise accounts. On all other accounts, you can delete users.
Only Account Owners can delete users and operators.

On Enterprise accounts, you can choose to "deactivate users" rather than deleting them. This is meant to preserve the history of an individual user’s actions within Tulip.

The account can always be reactivated later by an Account Owner.

Regardless, you can deactivate users and delete users with the same flow.

If you are a Tulip Account Owner, you can deactivate a user by navigating to your Settings. Click on your icon in the top right of navigation bar, then click "Settings". Next, select "Users" from the panel on the left side.

Select the User you wish to deactivate, then, click the “...” button and then "Deactivate" in the following screen.

Then, click the “Deactivate” button to confirm.

A deactivated user cannot log in. You can view a list of deactivated users using a filter within your User List. Deactivated users will also be listed at the bottom of the User List by default.

Deactivated users will not appear on any lists of users within the Tulip App Editor. When a user is deactivated, they lose all permissions.

Reactivating A User

A Tulip Account Owner can also reactivate a user. Select the deactivated user’s name and click “Reactivate User” from the top right of the screen.

When the user was originally deactivated, their badge ID became available. If the deactivated user’s badge ID was “1234”, another user can start using that badge ID before the deactivated user is reactivated.

If this is the case and you want to reactivate the original user that claimed “1234”, you can do one of the following:

  1. Change the active user of “1234” to a different badge ID. Then, you can reactivate the original holder of “1234”.
  2. Give the reactivated user a new badge ID in the "Username" field.

Was this article helpful?